Exclusive: Up close with the Canons captain

 

BY STAFF WRITER 

The Canons have always been known to nurture break-through stars and put up league championship competition week-in, week-out. This season the team has impressed in spite of the pessimistic attitudes of some pundits towards the team. This team is under the stewardship of a young, high flying captain, JONATHAN EGAU. Ronald Awany sat down with him for a one-on-one interview. Here is the exclusive.

Basketball

Name: Jonathan Egau

Age: 23

Course: BBA 2

Position: Guard

Schools attended: Pioneer Primary School, Teso College Aloet, St Peter’s College Tororo, St Michael High School Sonde, Kibibi Secondary School, and UCU.

When did you start playing basketball? 

That was in 2006 when I had just joined Teso College Aloet. Back then the Malinga brothers (Henry, Erick, and Alex) were a household name in the local league and the fact that they were from Teso inspired me so much, I wanted to grow up and play basketball like them.

What is your strength on court? 

Jumping! I can jump so high, the reason I find picking rebounds and dunking quiet easy.

How do you manage captaining a team and having so much responsibility at such a young age? 

It is a good feeling that comes with a lot of responsibility. It is important to have the support of my teammates, especially during challenging times.

Where do you see yourself in five years? 

Going pro, and captaining the national side. In fact this year I hope to be called up to the national team.

Do you ever anticipate winning the league during your leadership? 

Yes! This team consists of a fine set of players with great quality and the ability to win the league. We just need to adjust in a few areas and we shall be champions.

How do you spend your free time? 

I go out with friends, a lot. I go swimming too and play a lot of relaxing basketball.

Any role models? 

Dwayne Wade formerly with the Miami Heat and now with the Chicago Bulls, and then locally, Stephen Omony.

What is your favourite meal? 

Smoked goat meat in g-nuts paste and attapa (millet bread)

How do you balance your academics and on court commitments? 

It is always challenging but at the end of the day, I try to draw a balance between the two. On an average day, I have to work out, hit the gym and throw some hoops and at the same time I have to be committed to class obligations.

What is your best and worst game of all time? 

This season’s first leg tie against City Oil was my best. In spite of the fact that we lost 73-72, I had a great game in general and scored 23 points.

My worst is still City Oil, Game Seven of last year’s finals. We could have won the championship yet I felt I could have done more to help the team.

 

