What if I don’t end up in my dream career?

DSC_0490
John Vianney Ahumuza addressing students during an outreach in Western Uganda. (Photo by Alex Taremwa)

BY JOHN VIANNEY AHUMUZA

The Uganda Christian University career outreach team recently traversed northern Uganda districts such as Lira, Oyam, Gulu, Pader, Kitgum and other neighbouring areas, to guide learners and teachers on making holistic career choices.

As every learner begins the long journey of pursuing your dream career, the subjects offered at O-level define the ladders to be followed in realizing that dream. Then comes two years of A-level pursuit, defined by choice of the selected combination

This stage is very critical in defining a career choice. The way one performs at A-level will usher one into a particular course at a tertiary institution. That decision of course eventually catapults the student into future professional practice and for some that will be their dream career realized.

In short for many, life begins and ends with knowing and realising a dream career. Short of achieving this may result in low output at work, frustration and grumbling.

This semester brings to UCU yet another cohort of new students. To some it is the first step on the journey of their dream career. For others it may be total frustration because they are undertaking a course contrary to their dream.

As a young student, my dream was to become a lawyer. I ensured that the back covers of my primary and secondary school books were decorated with this ambition. But at the end of my A-level, the story changed.

I was admitted to a Bachelors of Arts with Education degree. So I quickly changed my mind to focus on yet another dream of joining the military. In fact I stayed in the hostel an extra three weeks waiting to be recruited.

Every week the reporting dates were postponed. One week later, though I was called to report at home for some urgent assignment, by the time I came back all my friends’ phones were off and the rooms closed. I had missed recruitment (both my friends are captains in the air force now).

It is then that I realised that God wanted me to serve him the biblical Jonah way. I have since devoted my life to the teaching profession. This is a calling I do wholeheartedly. I am sometimes convinced that God inspires us to our dream career.

D e t e r m i n a t i o n , good performance and discipline are key. Remember, at university level degrees are classified according to performance. This is not different from shortlisting candidates for interviews!

My advice to new students is that your life is bigger than your imagination; follow your dream and live it.

The writer is a lecturer in the Foundation Studies Department

