Odhiambo bows out

purity

Winning the 2015 National Basketball League title might have been the last game and icing on the cake for Lady Canon’s star shooter, Purity Odhiambo, whose contract with the university expired after her graduation in October 2015.

Odhiambo won the Women’s National league championship with the Lady Canons in 2011, 2013 and 2015 and was also voted Most Valuable Player regular season in 2011 and 2014 along with other University games accolades she won in 2012, 2013 and 2014 making her one of the most decorated players in UCU sports.

Odhiambo also represented UCU in the World three by three University Basketball Championships in Xiamen, China in 2015.

During an interview with The Standard , Odhiambo admitted that she will still play in Uganda next season but kept her options open.

“I haven’t decided on my future yet,” Odhiambo, who still upheld her desire to play for UCU again said. “I will play for whoever gives me the best deal but I will consider many options.

If they (UCU) give me a better offer, I will take it but for now nothing has happened,” she added.

Should UCU let Odhiambo go just like they did to Moreen Amoding, Peace Proscovia and Suudi Ullanga last season, their local rivals will be gunning for her signature, something that will be a major blow in UCU’s pursuit for another championship next season.

